Anime Review: Golden Time

Golden Time

First, I was thrilled the moment that Nana made an appearance in this anime. I love Nana (the anime), and if you haven’t checked it out yet, I highly suggest it. I may just have to write a review on that as well…

But seeing as I’ve just finished Golden Time from (literally) start to finish, I thought I’d share my thoughts with you on it.

I’m one of those people who, when I find a series that I love, I will marathon the shit out of it from start to finish. However, those series for me are few and far between. Too often, I’ll find myself disinterested within the first few episodes, or stalling out eventually. The series might be good, but my ADD kicks in and I find myself doing something else.

At no point in Golden Time did this happen. This anime has so many elements that I love.

 

Characters

golden time nana slap

 One thing I love, is when characters actually, you know, develop. Here’s one that seems small, but I really appreciate: the characters change their hair styles from time to time. They change their looks, and experiment with their personal identities as they grow.

All of the characters in Golden Time progress emotionally in a very deep and real way. Yes, there’s a lot of that over-the-top, larger-than-life anime drama, but it’s reminiscent of real life just exaggerated. I found myself generally caring about each of the characters, even ones who weren’t really main characters.

The character development is phenomenal.

 

Plot

golden time rain dancing

 I must say, when I see a plot that revolves around something as cliche as amnesia, I give an automatic eye roll. It’s one of those plots that I automatically associate with: they ran out of ideas, they don’t want to take the time to fully develop the main character – what’s easier than a blank slate?

Those things I said in the previous paragraph do not apply to Golden Time. In fact, I am thoroughly amazed at how the main character has amnesia, and although this is one of the biggest parts of the plot, it is done so seamlessly that it makes you forget any reservations you had with it in the first place.

Oh, and there’s a love triangle. However, this love triangle is one that genuinely had me deep in thought as to how I wanted the outcome to be. I won’t give any spoilers, but the way that the “love triangle” (love triangle is really the best word I can think for it) is set up is done so well, that you will be emotionally torn at some points, and completely sure of what you want to happen at other points.

Final Thoughts

golden time goodbye

I don’t tear up easily at things that I watch. This anime had me feeling more feels than I’ve felt in a long time. I went through a whirlwind of emotions; fear, sadness, happiness, relief, and cute bubbly feelings. If you want to watch something that’s going to keep you hooked from start to finish, go for this one.

Leave a Reply

